This is the "Citing Images using MLA Style" page of the "Citing Images using MLA Style" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Images using MLA Style   Tags: citations, citing_images, images  

Provides examples and related web sites for citing images or works of art using the 7th edition of the MLA Handbook
Last Updated: Apr 29, 2014 URL: http://collin.libguides.com/citingimages Print Guide RSS Updates
Citing Images using MLA Style Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Writing Help

Citing Your Sources


MLA Works Cited: Other Common Sources  
For a work viewed in person or in a print book, scroll down to:
A Painting, Sculpture, or Photograph

MLA Format for Electronic Sources
For an image found online, s
croll down to:
An Image (Including a Painting, Sculpture or Photograph)

KnightCite
Enter your data; the system provides you the citation.
**Try Art or Photograph and Advertisement listed under Multimedia.

Formatting Your Paper

MLA Format

Proofreading Your Paper

Writing Centers

 

Did We Help?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Examples of Citations for Images

Work of Art viewed in person at a Museum 

Evans, Walker. Penny Picture Display. 1936. Photograph. Museum of Modern Art,

      New York.

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV. 1800. Oil on Canvas. Museo del Prado, 

      Madrid.

Citation includes: Artist. Title of Work. Date of Work. Medium of Composition. Museum, City where Museum is located.

Image from ARTstor

Cassatt, Mary. The Boating Party. 1893-1894. National Gallery of Art, Washington,

         D.C. ARTstor. Web. 12 Sept. 2009. <http://www.artstor.org>.

Image from any Library Database

Rousseau, Henri. The Ship in the Storm. 1896.  Musee de l'Orangerie, Paris.

         Grove Art Online. Web. 22 Nov. 2006.

Image found free on the Web

Rousseau, Henri. The Ship in the Storm. 1896.  Musee de l'Orangerie, Paris.

         The Artchive. Web. 8 Aug. 2006.

Citation includes: Artist. Title of Work. Date of Work. Museum or Collection, City. Database/Web Site. Date Accessed. URL (optional).

Image reproduced in a printed source

Rousseau, Henri. The Ship in the Storm. 1896. Musee de l'Orangerie, Paris.

Henri Rousseau: Jungles in Paris. By Claire Fresches, et al. Washington:

National Gallery of Art, 2006. 232. Print.

If known, the collection which owns the image should be included in your citation along with its location as shown in the examples.

 

Collin Library Sources for Images

ARTstor
High quality images you can save and use in PowerPoint presentations

Art Research Guide
Includes library databases and free web sites 

 

Sources

Sources Consulted:

 MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York:

Modern Language Association, 2009. Pages 189-190, 200-201. Print.

 “MLA Works Cited: Electronic Sources (Web Publications). Purdue OWL.

Purdue University, 24 May 2010. Web. 12 Sept. 2010.

Examples adapted from:

Citing Online Art Images Using NoodleTools: MLA 7th ed.  Northwest Vista College

Library. Sept. 2010. Web. 29 April 2011. <http://www.alamo.edu/nvc/lrc/

documents/MLA7%20Art%20Images.pdf>.

MLA Citation Examples. University of Maryland University College Information and

Library Services. 2010. Web. 15 Feb. 2010.

<http://www.umuc.edu/library/guides/mla.shtml#images>.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York:

      Modern Language Association, 2009. Page 200. Print.

"MLA Works Cited: Other Common Sources." Purdue OWL.

      Purdue University, 24 June 2013. Web. 18 Nov. 2013.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Melissa Blackmore
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Spring Creek Campus
L103-J
972-881-5941
Liaison Areas: Art, Dance, Communication Design, Humanities, Photography, Physical Education
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip